Kate Griffin and Benedict Jacka signing at Forbidden Planet London this Thursday! James Long February 21, 2012

0

There is a hidden, magical London that is all around, but often remains unseen. . . and for good reason, since it is a dangerous place. This Thursday, Forbidden Planet celebrates this other London, hosting a signing session with urban fantasies Kate Griffin and Benedict Jacka. The signing will take place at London’s Forbidden Planet store on Shaftesbury Avenue from 6-7pm.

Minority council cover - a sillouette of a man with electric sparksKate Griffin will sign her new novel THE MINORITY COUNCIL (UK | US | ANZ), the fourth book in her urban fantasy series featuring resurrected wizard Matthew Swift.

Matthew Swift, the midnight mayor, is in charge. He hopes. And London has some problems. The new drug on the market is pixie dust and it’s turning humans into walking drug labs. Teenage vandals are hunted by a mystical creature and common criminals die by magical means. If Swift is to save London from a rising tide of blood, he’ll have to learn — and fast — what being the midnight mayor really means.

Kate has quickly (bad pun fully intended) built a dedicated fan base with her stories of a hidden London forged from urban myths, legends and magic. Critical acclaim was equally impressive:

NEVERWHERE for the digital age. . . The best novelists transcend genres and Matthew Swift’s excellent sequence of Griffin, which tells of an eldritch and fantastical London, proves it.

“Few people can claim to share the same level of creativity and individual style as Griffin” SCIFI NOW

Fated Cover - red text, with shadows of London landmarksBenedict Jacka will be a new name for many of you, but it won’t stay that way for long. Fresh off his panel at SFX Weekender, he’ll be signing copies of FATED – a debut novel that reveals him to be a major new talent in urban fantasy, and a perfect book for fans of Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files and RIVERS OF. Ben Aaronovitch. LONDON.

Camden, North London. A tangled and mangled junction of train lines, roads and waterways. Where underage celebrities hang out with underage criminals and tourists and moody teenagers mingle. In the heart of Camden, where the rail meets the road and the ley line, you might find the Arcana Emporium, run by one Alex Verus. He won’t sell you a wand or brew a potion for you, but if you know what you’re looking for, he might be able to help you. That’s if he’s not too busy avoiding his would-be apprentice, outsmarting Darkness, outsmarting Light, and investigating a mysterious relic that has just been discovered in the British Museum.

Sunday time Best-selling author Jim Butcher is already a devoted fan:

Harry Dresden would love Alex Verus immensely – and would be a bit nervous around him. I just added Benedict Jacka to my must read list. FATED is an excellent novel, a beautifully realized world with a particularly powerful and vulnerable protagonist. Books this good remind me why I got into the world of storytelling in the first place”

FATED (UK | ANZ) will be followed by CURSED (June 2012) and TAKEN (September 2012). Be sure to enter the ground floor of what promises to be the next great urban fantasy series.

Kate Griffin and Benedict Jacka can be found online; Kate’s website is here, and Benedict’s smart new web presence is here.

Leave a comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

buy generic cialis online